Cahuenga 615 // Philip Marlowe // Handmade Bookish Soy Candle // Coffee, Tobacco, Barbershop

Rated 5.00 out of 5 based on 4 customer ratings
(4 customer reviews)

$9.49$17.98

A mysterious blend of rich Colombian coffee, Cuban tobacco and the masculine scents of a noir-era barbershop

Clear

Description

Location: Cahuenga 615, Los Angeles
Featured Detective: Private Investigator Philip Marlowe
Year: 1939

THE SCENT: Step back in time to “Cahuenga 615” with Flame Noir Candle Co.’s original, all natural, book-lovers soy candle inspired by private investigator Philip Marlowe. Our handmade lead-free scented candle features a mysterious blend of rich, Colombian coffee, Cuban tobacco, & the masculine scents of a noir-era barbershop.

THE SCENE: Step inside the offices of “Cahuenga 615”, Los Angeles, 1939, and picture yourself in the world of hardboiled private investigator Philip Marlowe. Walk through the waiting room, passing by a red velvet settee, two Cuban mahogany wing back chairs and a library table on which several magazines sit. Let your imagination run wild as you enter Marlowe’s office. The floor is covered in wall-to-wall broadloom carpet in a deep, rust-red. Just past the door, a walnut coat rack is host to a tan Kingsway trench coat and matching felt fedora hat. Three tufted leather chairs are arranged before a walnut desk, on which sits a blotter and matching pen set, an ashtray, tobacco and rolling papers, a black rotary telephone, a .38 revolver with a 6-inch barrel, and an open bottle of brandy. The windows are open, but the venetian blinds are down, casting slanted, horizontal shadows in the late-afternoon sun. The smell of rich coffee hangs in the air from a drugstore across the street. Sitting in his leather-backed swivel chair, Marlowe reaches for his gun. He cleans and loads it before crossing the room to dawn his coat and hat. He’ll be needing that gun tonight as he follows a trail of set-ups, bad women, blackmail and murder.

SCENT NOTES: Colombian coffee, cocoa beans, Cuban tobacco, tobacco leaf, hair tonic, aftershave, amber, brandy, brown sugar, cloves, Oriental spice

SCENT STRENGTH: Strong/Medium

NOSE: Top notes of rich coffee and middles notes of lush tobacco finish on notes of exotic resins, spices and old-fashioned aftershave, making this original Flame Noir Candle Co. scent blend a hit with guys and dolls alike!

GIFT IDEAS: Cahuenga 615 makes a perfect housewarming, special occasion, holiday or birthday gift under $10 (4 oz) or $20 (8 oz). Perfect for fans of Philip Marlowe, mystery lovers, coworkers, couples, Film Noir and detective fiction fans, private investigators and law enforcement officers, crime fiction writers, or really anyone attracted to masculine coffee scents with a mysterious vintage twist.

FEATURED DETECTIVE: PRIVATE INVESTIGATOR PHILIP MARLOWE. Developing in a series of Black Mask magazine short stories written by Raymond Chandler between 1933-1939, Philip Marlowe’s first full length novel, “The Big Sleep”, (1939), had such a huge impact on the world of detective fiction that the influences can still be felt to this day.

CHARACTER STUDY: Below the surface, hard-boiled private investigator Philip Marlowe is surprisingly contemplative. Full of wisecracks and an abiding cynicism, his direct, even simple disposition never reveals his deeply philosophical inner workings. Time and again, Marlowe allows himself to be underestimated to the peril of 1930s & 1940s Los Angeles crooks, triggermen, femme fatales and wrong-doers of every social class. On the job he smokes Camels, talks tough, and drinks whiskey. At home, he can be found playing chess and smoking a pipe. He loves a stiff drink of brandy, a steaming cup of coffee, and all the wrong women.

Check our FAQ page for detailed product information.

OUR CANDLES SHIP WORLDWIDE!

RECOMMENDATIONS: We hope our customers will enjoy their new candles as they were meant to be experienced – while companioned with the books, TV shows, radio programs, films, games, and other official media in which this wonderful character is featured. We encourage you to discover the hidden secrets and engrossing mysteries of classic detective fiction. Give it a try and tell us what you think!

Additional information

Weight N/A
Dimensions N/A
Size

4oz, 8oz

4 reviews for Cahuenga 615 // Philip Marlowe // Handmade Bookish Soy Candle // Coffee, Tobacco, Barbershop

  1. Rated 5 out of 5

    Joe P

    Ok first off, let me say that I grew up listening to The Adventures of Philip Marlowe with Gerald Mohr and watching the movies with Bogie and Powell. In college I read the books and really got into the character. This is not only an amazing smelling candle – it embodies the character of Marlowe. It’s a mix of Cuban coffee (Marlowe is always making strong coffee), tobacco, (always filling a pipe), and a bit of “an old noir era barber shop”, (read Farewell, My Lovely). The smell is amazing. I would recommend it to anyone – even a non noir/ non Marlowe fan.

    The candle also has a nice scent – masculine, but not overpowering. If you are looking for a candle to freshen up a mystery lover’s man cave this is it. It is refreshing, yet not overpowering and you can’t get more manly than Philip Marlowe.

  2. Rated 5 out of 5

    Jeannie G

    LOVE this candle! It smells SO good! I don’t even have to drink my coffee, I can just sniff the candle to get a caffeine buzz. Besides smelling fantastic, shipping was incredible. Granted, I live close to the shop, but the candle was on my doorstep in less than 36 hours from the time I placed the order. I will definitely be shopping here again.

  3. Rated 5 out of 5

    Abby M.

    The shipping on this was super fast, and the Philip Marlowe candle is adorable. The scent is warm and musky with coffee undertones. The perfect gift for a film noir fan.

  4. Rated 5 out of 5

    Scott D.

    I’m a dude and I like stuff that smells good but not all extra fancy or like a damned craft store. When I light this candle in my manly office and walk in there and smell it, it wipes the near-permanent scowl from my face and replaces it with a friendly smirk. I don’t know that Philip Marlowe smelled like this or not, but heaven sure does! Smells real good, burns in a reasonable way, comes in a handy tin I can put shell casings or change or whatever in when my candle’s done. Five stars!

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *