Whitehaven Mansions // Hercule Poirot // Handmade Bookish Soy Candle // Chocolate, Opium, Deco Hair Tonic, Amber

Rated 5.00 out of 5 based on 2 customer ratings
(2 customer reviews)

$9.49$17.98

A distinguished blend of Belgian chocolate, blooming poppies, and the aroma of old fashioned grooming tonic.

Clear

Description

Location: Whitehaven Mansions, London
Featured Detective: Private Detective Hercule Poirot

Year: 1935

THE SCENT: Step back in time to “Whitehaven Mansions” with Flame Noir Candle Co.’s original, all natural, bookish soy candle inspired by private detective Hercule Poirot. Our handmade lead-free scented candle features a distinguished blend of Belgian chocolate, blooming poppies, and the aroma of old fashioned grooming tonic.

THE SCENE: Step inside “Whitehaven Mansions”, London, 1935, and picture yourself in the world of private detective Hercule Poirot. Let your imagination run wild as Miss Lemon turns the corner with a piping hot cup of tea, sweetened with 3 sugars and served in Hercule’s favorite glass and silver, Art Deco tea cup. Watch as Captain Hastings, seated on a tan leather couch in the sitting area of the room, looks up from his newspaper to utter, “I say”, in regard to something he has just seen on its pages. Observe Hercule Poirot at his desk, a small grooming mirror placed in front of him, carefully trimming his moustache, his pince-nez tightly in place. When Chief Inspector Japp of the Scotland Yard arrives moments later, he reveals the autopsy results from a recent, high-society murder. Poirot removes his bib, carefully places his clippers into a silver enameled case and stands dramatically. “Bon!” he declares, “It is as I expected, Mon’Ami!”

SCENT NOTES: Belgian chocolate, mysterious opium, poppies, hair tonic, mustache wax, vintage red wine, warm amber musk with hints of cloves & myrrh.

SCENT STRENGTH: Medium

NOSE: The top note of this candle is dark, velvety chocolate. When combined with subtle floral middle notes and a grooming tonic and exotic resin finish, the outcome is both complex and luxurious.

GIFT IDEAS: Whitehaven Mansions is the perfect housewarming, special occasion, holiday or birthday gift under $10 (4 oz) or $20 (8 oz), for fans of Agatha Christie and Hercule Poirot, mystery lovers, coworkers, mom, best friends, husbands and wives, girlfriends or boyfriends, crime fiction writers, detective fiction buffs, lovers of 1920s style ephemera and scents, or anyone attracted to old-fashioned and unique chocolatey fragrances.

FEATURED DETECTIVE: Private Detective, Hercule Poirot. First appearing in the novel, “The Mysterious Affair at Styles”, (1920), written by novelist Agatha Christie in 1916 and published 4 years later, Hercule Poirot has appeared in 33 novels, a theatrical play, “Black Coffee”, (1930), and more than 50 short stories from 1920-1975.

CHARACTER STUDY: Operating his investigative services out of his home at Whitehaven Mansions, Charterhouse Square, in the Smithfield neighborhood of London, England, circa 1935, former Chief of the Brussels police and refugee of the first World War, Belgian freelance detective Hercule Poirot is cunning, cleaver, and always punctual. He solves his capers by not just examining the physical clues as they appear at the scene of the crime, but by deducing the psychological state of the criminal and the nature of the victim. He keeps his signature mustache perfectly waxed and his dark hair coifed and dyed – his dress and attire always immaculate. The enigmatic Poirot allows people to imagine him as an eccentric dandy, but it is this very misconception that will give him the advantage he needs to uncover the truths that he will later use to dramatically reveal the criminal and explain the complexities of the crime.

Check our FAQ page for detailed product information.

OUR CANDLES SHIP WORLDWIDE!

RECOMMENDATIONS: We hope our customers will enjoy their new candles as they were meant to be experienced – while companioned with the books, TV shows, films, games, radio programs and other official media in which this wonderful character is featured. We encourage you to discover the hidden secrets and engrossing mysteries of classic detective fiction. Give it a try and tell us what you think!

Additional information

Weight N/A
Dimensions N/A
Size

4oz, 8oz

2 reviews for Whitehaven Mansions // Hercule Poirot // Handmade Bookish Soy Candle // Chocolate, Opium, Deco Hair Tonic, Amber

  1. Rated 5 out of 5

    Christine P.

    The scent was a nice representation of what one imagines a cologne favored by Poirot would smell like. My Agatha Christie-fan friend will love it.

  2. Rated 5 out of 5

    Kathleen D.

    5 out of 5 stars!

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *